This is what our clients are saying about their luxury African safari experience with Art of Safari.

Art of Safari Reviews What our travellers are saying about us

At Art of Safari we’re most inspired when we receive great reviews from our travellers. To know we helped design and manifest the safari of someone’s dreams, and that we delivered on service, is truly fulfilling.

We take our client feedback seriously. It’s a direct measure of how well we’ve done and, as very occasionally happens in Africa, how we’ve intervened when things haven’t gone as planned.

We want you to take our client feedback seriously too. To ensure the highest level of integrity with this crucial measure, we’ve partnered with Feefo, one of the world’s foremost independent product-and-service review platforms.

Take a look at what our reviews, we hope it’ll encourage you to entrust your dream African safari to us, and that you’ll be able to tell us about your own amazing safari experience in due course.

More Traveller Reviews

Art of Safari Traveller reviews

From: Benita ****** <************> 
Sent: Tuesday, 20 March 2018 4:46 PM
To: Nicky Mears <[email protected]>
Subject: Benita ******

Dear Nicky

I arrived home from Botswana very late yesterday evening after my flight back from Jhb was cancelled and I was not informed but that had nothing to do with your planning!!!

I had the most wonderful holiday possible. Everything was in place, the accommodation was fantastic and the staff truly carried me on there hands. The area has had a great lot of rain with the result that the grasses are very tall and it was difficult to see the animals, but in spite of that we still saw a lot. Lion, leopard and lots and lots of birds!!!!

I think the ultimate spoil was the mocoro’s. That felt like just a little bit less than Heaven. I do not posses a camera but took a few photos with my cell phone which are pathetic but the memories will stay in my head for ever.

The other guests were great and I enjoyed there company but also the great company of the staff. Our guide, KB, worked so hard to try and show us as much as possible and the manager, Boi and the other guide, July and I became very good friends.

Thank you again for organizing a great trip. Everything was super.

Please thank Gary and Anja too.

Lots of good wishes


Click here for original email
Client Benita’s wonderful pictures from her Mokoro safari in the Okavango Delta
Client Benita’s wonderful pictures from her Mokoro safari in the Okavango Delta
Client Benita’s wonderful pictures from her Mokoro safari in the Okavango Delta

From: Penny [mailto:******@***] 
Sent: Wednesday, 31 January 2018 12:06 AM
To: Art of Safari <[email protected]>

Hi Nicky and Gary,

Thankyou for your follow up email Nicky..I had replied yesterday, but my battery on my phone faded and I lost my almost finished reply… I applaud the beautifully put together proposal and itineraries..a truely passionate portrayal of the things you love…I loved them.!!

I approached many companies both commercial topline..supposedly, and smaller companies along with hoteliers and air charter companies.. all pailed into insignificance in comparison.. On Occassion price was similar, but passion would clearly outweigh that.!!

It became clear that generally speaking for the type of accomodations and the distance which needs to be travelled, both by land ? and air, time and cost are involved.. Friends have no qualms about these issues, but it was clear that one of my sons ( who turns 30 a week before me), had conflicting issues about cost and timing… He is already on the “circuit” for 30th birthdays with a stable girlfriend ( who happens to be a vet, hence I thought this trip may be alluring), it appears that the safari at this point in time is not going to work out as a group…

Sadly, for us all, I am going to have to save this idea for another time..I am going to fit into an idea he and now his younger brother have to ski with friends in California ( one of whom lives there) and celebrate my birthday on the other side of their return ,mid way in Hawaii..

I wish you both much more success which you so deserve…. I will be posting a comment on trip advisor if allowed without actually travelling with you..fingers crossed..

Kind Regards, Penny
Sent from my iPhone

Click here for original email

On Fri, Dec 29, 2017 at 3:13 PM, RA ********** <************> wrote:
Hi Gary, we’ve just returned to Windhoek after one week of Wilderness followed by two weeks of selfdriving. The week in Hoanib and Serra Cafema were absolutely perfect. Arranged to the minute details, nothing went wrong, perfectly on time, stunning locations and lodges. In SC we were the only guests and were treated like king and queen. Not too bad for 4 days. The 2 weeks selfdrive and camping was at the other end of the scale but just as enjoyable. Thanks and we’ll be back. Regards and all the best for 2018. Adrian

Click here for original email

Thank you Art of Safari, Gary, Anya an team for an awsome trip to Samburu and Masi Mara, a bucket list safari trip for anyone to tick off.

Posted by Carl Fourie on Samstag, 16. Dezember 2017


Hi Nicky,

Thank you thank you thank you for organising such an incredible holiday for us! We made so many extraordinary memories and had the best time. The two &beyond reserves were exceptional- everything from the food to the experience, and wildlife were incredible and the people made us feel welcome, taught us to much, and made our stay better than we could have ever imagined! You were an absolute pleasure to deal with and I can’t thank you enough for your patience and the care you took in planning our holiday! Thanks again, I’m sure we’ll be in touch to plan another holiday soon- we certainly will be back!


Click here for original email

From: Pat ********* [mailto:****]
Sent: Monday, 23 October 2017 6:08 PM
To: Nicky Mears <[email protected]>
Subject: Re: Welcome home!

Hi Nicky,

Just wanted to add my thanks also. . . . . It was a dream trip and I don’t know what, if anything, could have made it better! Take care,


Click here for original email

From: Jaime ********* [mailto:*****.*********@***********]
Sent: Sunday, 15 October 2017 11:59 AM
To: Nicky Mears <[email protected]>
Subject: Re: Safari njema

Hi Nicky

Just left Ngala and have to say that you have done an INCREDIBLE job! We had the most amazing experiences there. Everyone and everything was extraordinary! Thank you for creating this itinerary for us- we already have so many amazing memories! We just realised that at Ngala we had massages that were charged to our room but they never took a credit card from us at check in- how can we ensure we settle that up?

Thanks again!

Click here for original email


From: Mara **** <*********>
Date: Thu, Oct 12, 2017 at 12:45 AM
Subject: Re: Welcome home!
To: Gary Lotter <[email protected]>
Cc: ************, Nicky Mears <[email protected]>

Hi Gary,

So sorry for the late reply. Returned to a busy time at work. We had a fantastic time and really loved Sala’s Camp. It was really perfect – no migration – but that didn’t matter. We saw lots of animals, the camp was beautiful, service and food excellent. Thanks so much for the terrific recommendation. The logistics were perfect, and David’s day trip was great. Leonard was a wonderful driver. It was hard to leave and we hope to return Agsin. Thanks again for everything! We hope to visit Cape Town one of these days and will be in touch when we do.


Click here for original email

From: fish.bowl [mailto:****.****@*******.com]
Sent: Wednesday, 04 October 2017 5:11 PM
To: Nicky Mears <[email protected]>
Subject: Re: Welcome home!

Hello Lovely.

It was great to finally meet both you and Nic in your home town. As you already know we had the bestest time ever and meeting people like you along the way just amplified it. We are yet to get home, sitting now in Changi airport waiting for our final flight in less than 1 hour – drinking wine. In the next week we will post lots of photos and comlpete the survey. The American couple we meet along the way have also asked for your contact details so I shall pass them on 😉 We have also packed your wine to drink with family while we show them pictures. Once again thank you so much for organising such a great trip, we do plan to return in 2019.

Take care, we will try and keep intouch with the occasional email. I do think if we lived in the same town we would have been good friends. My mobile is +61 *********.


Click here for original email

From: Eileen **** [mailto:**********.**]
Sent: Friday, 29 September 2017 4:20 PM
To: Nicky Mears <[email protected]>
Subject: Re: Your safari in October

Hey Nicky,

Thank you for all your time in tailoring this itinerary and providing a package with value to us. I did compare other quotes from other suppliers in the earlier stages and my gut always told me that I was gonna end up going with yours. Your email interactions have also been very efficient and to the point and you understand our needs right away. So thank you for making this happen for us!!

Click here for original email

From: Bruce ***. <***_******@*********.ca>
Date: Mon, Sep 25, 2017 at 7:10 PM
Subject: Thank you
To: Gary Lotter <[email protected]>

Hello Gary,

We would like to thank you for the lovely pouch and luggage tags, we are sure they will come in handy in our future travels. We would also like to inform you of how much we have enjoyed our holiday, and in particular, our safari lodges and game drives. We have witnessed up close and personal the big five plus many other wonderful animals. The tours that we took in Cape Town have been very good and our helicopter flip was absolutely amazing. Of course we would be remiss without mentioning how delighted we have been with Nicky, she has gone beyond and above in exceeding our expectations.

Thanks again
Ann & Bruce ***

PS: Rest assured that we fully intend to us Art of Safari in the future.

Click here for original email

From: Mark **************
Date: Friday, 25 August 2017 1:04 PM
Subject: Thank you
To: Nicky Mears <[email protected]>


Here is my feedback. If there was anything that could have made these two Safari experiences any better, I do not know what it could be. We had an incredible time! It was a good choice of yours to put us at Amboselli for two nights and Kehwa for three. It was just the right amount of time. Any more time, would have been redundant and we got to see two different geographies and animal groups. The service was fantastic and like I said, I don’t know how it could have been any better. I guess the only thing would be it would have been nice to be in one of the front cabins at Kichwa, number 1-5. I’ll try to do something on your Facebook page. Thanks for your good work!


Click here for original email

From: Marleijne *********.*********
Date: Mon, May 8, 2017 at 2:05 PM
Subject: re: Travel Documents For Your Safari
To: Gary Lotter <[email protected]>

Dear Gary, 

Everything was absolute fantastic! What a surprise lunch at the beach of Swakopmund! We have enjoyed every minute and it was all very well organized. Thank you!

Hendrik & Marliejne

Click here for original email

Our clients Shane & Crisel recently visited South Africa and Zimbabwe and kept us updated via WhatsApp while travelling…

More About Your African Safari

Ready to go?

Get an expertly planned, obligation-free safari trip proposal.

Enquire Now

Get an expertly planned safari trip proposal

Enquire Now

Want to get in touch?

Contact Us

Creating your canvas!

By clicking on the heart, you’ve just added your first safari item to your canvas, which is where you can curate your personal collection of luxury safari inspiration. View and save your canvas by clicking here, and you'll be able to access it at any time by tapping on the heart icon in the menu bar.

Got it